Canada election results: Victoria

View Link »

Global News is projecting that NDP candidate Laurel Collins has been re-elected in the riding of Victoria.

The federal NDP has held the seat since 2006, with Collins first getting elected in 2019.

This time, she was well out in front. With 215 of 234 polls reporting as of 11:15 p.m., she had 45.1 per cent of the ballot.

Next was Liberal candidate Nikki Macdonald at 24.9 per cent, with Conservative contender Hannah Hodson at 13.6 per cent.

Read more:

Liberals projected to form minority government; Trudeau bills win as ‘clear mandate’

The Vancouver Island riding includes the City of Victoria, the District of Oak Bay and part of the District of Saanich.

NDP MP Murray Rankin was elected in the 2012 byelection and won again in 2015.

He decided to retire in 2019, but the New Democrats held on to the seat when city councillor Collins snagged 33.2 per cent of the vote, edging out the Greens’ Racelle Kooy.


Liberal Party:  Nikki Macdonald

Conservative Party: Hannah Hodson

NDP: Laurel Collins (incumbent)

Green Party: Nick Loughton

People’s Party of Canada: John Randal Phipps

Animal Protection Party of Canada: Jordan Reichert

Communist Party of Canada: Janis Zroback

Read more:

Former Green Party leader Elizabeth May re-elected in Saanich—Gulf Islands

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories