Canada election results: Surrey–Newton

View Link »

Liberal Sukh Dhaliwal has been re-elected in Surrey–Newton in the 2021 federal election, Global News projects.

With 61 of 65 polls reporting as of 9 p.m. PT, Dhaliwal had 54.1 per cent of the vote — more than double the share of NDP competitor Avneet Johal.

Conservative Syed Mohsin trailed in third.

Read more:
Live Canada election results 2021: Real-time results in the federal election

Dhaliwal was first elected to the riding in 2015. He ran again in 2019, and won with 45 per cent of the vote.

He was the MP of the former Newton–North Delta riding from 2006 until 2011.

The riding encompasses the Newton neighbourhood of Surrey in B.C.’s Lower Mainland.

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories