Canada election results: Cloverdale–Langley City

View Link »

Cloverdale–Langley City was one of the most-watched seats in Metro Vancouver on election night.

It was a close race between candidate Conservative Tamara Jansen and Liberal incumbent John Aldag.

However, Aldag has been elected with 38.7 per cent of the vote. Jansen came in second with 36.4 per cent and NDP’s Rajesh Jayaprakash captured 19.9 per cent.

Aldag held the seat from 2015 to 2019 but was beaten by Jansen in 2019 by fewer than 1,400 votes.

Read more:
Live Canada election results 2021: Real-time results in the federal election

Once considered a Conservative stronghold, the political climate in southeast Surrey and Langley is changing quickly.

The BC NDP swept through the area on the way to a majority government in the 2020 provincial election.

The riding includes the City of Langley, part of the Township of Langley and part of the City of Surrey.


Liberal Party: John Aldag

Conservative Party: Tamara Jansen (incumbent)

NDP: Rajesh Jayaprakash

Green Party: None

People’s Party of Canada: Ian Kennedy

Read more:
What will a COVID-19-era federal election look like? What voters need to know

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories