Canada election results: Northwest Territories

View Link »

Liberal incumbent Michael McLeod is projected to win another term representing the Northwest Territories in Parliament.

McLeod narrowly defeated NDP challenger Kelvin Kotchilea by nearly six points. The tight race meant McLeod’s victory wasn’t declared until Tuesday morning.

Mcleod has held onto the Northwest Territories riding — which encompasses the entire territory — since 2015, when he defeated NDP incumbent Dennis Bevington.

Bevington had been the MP for the territory for nine years before he was unseated by McLeod. Prior to 2006, Bevington was defeated in two straight elections by Liberal Ethel Blondin-Andrew.

The riding was previously called Western Arctic, before it was renamed ahead of the 2015 federal election.

Liberal: Michael McLeod (incumbent)

Conservatives: Lea Anne Mollison

NDP: Kelvin Kotchilea

Green Party: Roland Laufer

Independent: Jane Groenewegen

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories