Canada election results: Cariboo–Prince George

View Link »

Global News is projecting that Conservative candidate Todd Doherty has been re-elected in the riding of Cariboo-Prince George.

Doherty is expected to return for a third term. With 220 of 233 polls reporting as of 11 p.m., he had 50.6 per cent of the vote.

Audrey McKinnon of the NDP was second at 20.6 per cent, with Garth Frizzell of the Liberals in third at 16.3 per cent.

Read more:

Liberals projected to form minority government; Trudeau bills win as ‘clear mandate’

Doherty was first elected in 2015. In 2019, he secured the seat with 52.7 per cent of the vote.

Before him, the riding was held for more than a decade by Conservative Dick Harris.

This seat is far from a swing riding, but the Liberals had a surprising showing in 2015, losing by fewer than 3,000 ballots.

Cariboo–Prince George encompasses parts of Prince George, parts of the Bulkley-Nechako Regional District, the District of Vanderhoof, and parts of the Cariboo Regional District.


Liberal Party: Garth Frizzell

Conservative Party: Todd Doherty (incumbent)

NDP: Audrey McKinnon

Green Party: Leigh Hunsinger-Chang

People’s Party of Canada: Jeremy Gustafson

Christian Heritage Party of Canada: Henry Thiessen

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories