Canada election results: Yellowhead

View Link »

Conservative Gerald Soroka has been projected by Global News to win the Alberta riding of Yellowhead.

Yellowhead is located west of Edmonton and stretches as far as the B.C. border.

FULL COVERAGE: Real-time results in the federal election

The Yellowhead electoral district encompasses parts of Parkland County, Leduc County, Clearwater County, Yellowhead County, Lac Ste. Anne County and Brazeau County. It includes the municipalities of Hinton, Edson and Drayton Valley.

The riding gets its name from the Yellowhead Pass, which is a mountain pass in the Canadian Rockies.

The riding has been a Conservative stronghold for years.

Conservative Gerald Soroka won the riding in the 2019 election after former Conservative MP Jim Eglinski announced he was not seeking re-election. Eglinski was elected first in a November 2014 byelection and then re-elected in the 2015 federal election.

Conservatives: Gerald Soroka (incumbent)

Liberal: Sheila Schumacher

NDP: Guillaume Roy

PPC: Michael Manchen

Maverick: Todd Muir


© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories