Canada election results: Windsor–Tecumseh

View Link »

Liberal incumbent Irek Kusmierczyk is projected to be re-elected in the riding of Windsor-Tecumseh.

Incumbent Liberal Irek Kusmierczyk is projected to be re-elected for a second term. Kusmierczyk was first elected in 2019, defeating NDP incumbent Cheryl Hardcastle, and ending NDPs 19 year hold on the riding.

The riding of Windsor–Tecumseh is located in southwestern Ontario. It encompasses the part of Essex County that comprises the Town of Tecumseh and part of the city of Windsor. It includes a portion of the Detroit River and Lake St. Clair.

Liberal incumbent Irek Kusmierczyk won the riding in 2019, with nearly 35 per cent of the vote.

The riding has had a strong NDP hold, with Joe Comartin having held the seat from 2000 until 2015. The NDP’s Cheryl Hardcastle ran in 2015 and won the seat with 43.5 per cent of the vote.

Under Justin Trudeau’s Liberal government, Kusmierczyk was the parliamentary secretary to the minister of employment, workforce development and disability inclusion.

Windsor–Tecumseh’s population is 117,429, with 95,668 registered voters. Almost 30 per cent of the riding’s recent immigrants are from Iraq, according to the 2016 census.

Liberal Party: Irek Kusmierczyk (incumbent)

Conservative Party: Kathy Borrelli

Green Party: Henry Oulevey

Marxist-Leninist Party: Laura Chesnik

NDP: Cheryl Hardcastle

People’s Party of Canada: Victor Green

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories