Canada election results: Whitby

View Link »

Global News is projecting Liberal MP Ryan Turnbull has been re-elected for another term in the riding of Whitby.

The riding of Whitby is located in southern Ontario. It consists of the Town of Whitby in Durham Region and borders on Lake Ontario.

The Whitby riding was created after the redistribution of the former Whitby–Oshawa riding.

Turnbull won the seat in 2019 with 43.7 per cent of the vote.

He was preceded by the Liberal Party’s former Celina Caesar-Chavannes, who won the seat in 2015 and later stepped down after what she said was a “hostile” exchange involving her and Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Conservative Pat Perkins snagged the seat for Whitby–Oshawa in a 2014 by-election. She was preceded by Jim Flaherty, who was the riding’s MP from 2006 until 2014 when he passed away at age 64. He was also the former finance minister.

According to the 2016 census, the Whitby riding has a population of 128,377.

Liberal Party: Ryan Turnbull (incumbent)

Conservative Party: Maleeha Shahid

Green Party: Johannes Kotilainen

NDP: Brian Dias

People’s Party of Canada: Thomas Androvic

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories