Canada election results: Sudbury

View Link »

Global News is projecting Liberal candidate Viviane Lapointe getting elected in Sudbury.

The Sudbury riding consists of part of the City of Greater Sudbury and includes part of Lake Panache, Vermilion River, Spanish River, as well as Fairbank, Kelly and Ramsey lakes.

Liberal Paul Lefebvre previously held the seat since 2015. He was reelected in 2019 with 40.9 per cent of the vote, while NDP candidate Beth Mairs garnered 13,885 votes and Conservative Pierre St-Amant took 9,864 votes.

Lefebvre was preceded by NDP Glenn Thibeault between 2008 and 2015, as well as Liberal Diane Marleau, who held the seat from 1988 to 2008.

Lefebvre was the former commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission and has taught international taxation at the University of Ottawa’s law school. He practiced law until he entered politics in 2015.

Liberal: Viviane Lapointe
Conservative: Ian Symington
NDP: Nadia Verrelli
Green Party: David Robinson
People’s Party of Canada: Colette Methe
Independent: David Popescu

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories