Canada election results: Oshawa

View Link »

Global News is projecting Conservative MP Colin Carrie has been re-elected for another term in the riding of Oshawa.

The riding of Oshawa was formed in 1966.

It is in Durham Region and is made up of the City of Oshawa with the exception of the mostly rural areas north of Taunton Road, which are now part of the Durham riding.

This riding is home to 126,764 residents and 101,988 registered voters. According to the most recent census, immigrants make up about 15 per cent of this riding’s population, with Polish and Italian being the most popular non-official languages.

Carrie recaptured Oshawa in the 2019 federal election. Carrie, who has held the seat since 2004, defeated NDP candidate Shailene Panylo by 6,419 votes. The Liberal Party’s Afroza Hossain came a close third, garnering 25.4 per cent of the vote. Jovannah Ramsden from the Green Party finished fourth.

The Oshawa riding has been Conservative since 2004 and was previously held by the Liberals for about 10 years. Prior to that, Oshawa was held by the NDP from 1968-1993.

Liberal Party: Afroza Hossain

Conservative Party: Colin Carrie (incumbent)

Green Party: Sonny Mir

NDP: Shailene Panylo

People’s Party of Canada: Darryl Mackie

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories