Canada election results: Mississauga–Malton

View Link »

Global News is projecting Iqwinder Gaheer has been elected as the Liberal MP for Mississauga—Malton.

Mississauga—Malton is located in Mississauga, Ont. It includes the Brampton-Mississauga border as well as the Toronto-Mississauga border. Portions of highways 401 and 403 run through this riding, as does the Credit River. Toronto’s Pearson airport is located in this riding.

The riding is made up of parts of the former ridings of Bramalea—Gore—Malton, Mississauga—Brampton South and Mississauga—Streetsville. It earned its current name ahead of the 2015 federal election.

Liberal Navdeep Bains has had the seat since 2015. Prior to that, he was the MP for the Mississauga—Brampton South riding from 2004 until 2011. He was defeated by Conservative Eve Adams, who won with 44.7 per cent of the vote.

Bains was re-elected in 2019, winning in a landslide victory with 57 per cent of the vote.

In January, Bains announced his decision to step down as minister of innovation, science and industry and said he would not be seeking re-election, citing a need to spend more time with his family.

Bains has held a number of other titles during his time in the House including minister of innovation, science and economic development and parliamentary secretary to the prime minister.

Liberal Party: Iqwinder Singh Gaheer

Conservative Party: Clyde Roach

Green Party: Mark Davidson

NDP: Waseed Ahmed

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories