Canada election results: Thérèse-De Blainville

View Link »

Bloc Québécois candidate Louise Chabot is the projected winner in the riding of Thérèse-De Blainville.

The riding is located north of the city of Laval and borders the district of Terrebonne.

As of 2016, it had a population of 157,103.

The riding contains the towns of Sainte-Thérèse, Lorraine, Blainville and Bois-des-Filion in the Thérèse-De Blainville Regional County Municipality. Prior to redistribution in 2012, the northern half of the riding was part of Terrebonne-Blainville, while the southern half was part of Marc-Aurèle-Fortin.

From 1997 to 2011, the riding, formerly known as Terrebonne–Blainville, elected Bloc Québécois candidate as their MP. However, in 2011, NDP’s Charmaine Borg was elected during Quebec’s “orange wave.”

The riding went to the Liberals’ Ramez Ayoub in 2015 before going back to the Bloc in 2019 when Louise Chabot was elected.

Arabic, Spanish and Italian are the most common non-official mother tongues in the riding.

Bloc Québécois: Louise Chabot (incumbent)

Conservative Party: Marc Bissonnette

Free Party Canada: Peggy Tassignon

Green Party: Simon Paré-Poupart

Liberal Party: Ramez Ayoub

NDP: Julienne Soumaoro

People’s Party of Canada: Vincent Aubé

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories