Canada election results: Saint-Laurent

View Link »

Emmanuella Lambropoulos is the projected winner of Saint-Laurent—Cartierville.

The riding of Saint-Laurent closely resembles the former riding of Saint-Laurent—Cartierville.

The name change reflects the move of Cartierville to the neighbouring riding, which also includes Ahuntsic, during the 2012 electoral redistribution.

The Liberals have held this seat since it was created in 1988, making it one of the strongest Liberal strongholds in the country.

Incumbent MP Emmanuella Lambropoulos was first elected during a byelection in 2017 after former MP Stéphane Dion announced he was stepping down.

As part of Justin Trudeau’s government, Dion served as minister of foreign affairs until a 2017 cabinet shuffle that put Chrystia Freeland, later named deputy prime minister, in the role.

Liberal Party: Emmanuella Lambropoulos (incumbent)

Bloc Québécois: Florence Racicot

Conservative Party: Richard Serour

Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada: Ginette Boutet

NDP: Nathan Devereaux

People’s Party of Canada: Gregory Yablunovsky


© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories