Canada election results: Saint-Jean

View Link »

Bloc Québécois candidate Christine Normandin is the projected winner in the riding of Saint-Jean.

A large, predominately rural seat in southeast Montérégie, the riding of Saint–Jean includes most of the municipality of Le Haut-Richelieu.

The majority of voters are in the city of Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

The riding has been represented in the House of Commons since 1968, and like many Quebec electoral districts outside Montréal, has followed a similar voting pattern.

Voters elected Bloc Québécois MPs exclusively between 1993 and 2011, Progressive Conservative candidates from 1984 to 1993, and Liberal candidates throughout the Pierre Trudeau era.

Incumbent Bloc Québécois MP Christine Normandin was elected to the riding in 2019, taking the seat from the Liberals’ Jean Rioux, who served for one term.

Bloc Québécois: Christine Normandin (incumbent)

Conservative Party: Serge Benoit

Free Party Canada: Jean-Charles Cléroux

Green Party: Leigh V. Ryan

Liberal Party: Jean Rioux

NDP: Jeremy Fournier

Parti pour l’Indépendance du Québec: Pierre Duteau


© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories