Canada election results: Labrador

View Link »

Liberal candidate Yvonne Jones is projected to win her fourth term representing the riding of Labrador.

Jones claimed about 45 per cent of the vote, nearly doubling the support for Conservative challenger Shane Dumaresque and NDP candidate Amy Norman, who each took about a quarter of ballots cast.

Jones was first elected in 2015, where she served as the parliamentary secretary to the minister of intergovernmental and northern affairs and internal trade.

This riding is made up of all of Labrador, including Belle Isle. The zone is known for being the only riding in the province that did not receive a boundary redistribution in 2015. It was formed in 1949, when Newfoundland and Labrador was admitted to Canada.

Consisting of a population of a mere 27,197 people, it accounts for only five per cent of province, making it one of the least populous ridings in Canada.

The riding also contains Nunatsiavut, the Inuit self-governing region of the province, along with two Innu reserves, Sheshatshiu and Natuashish.

This region has been a resolute Liberal stronghold, with only two candidates from right-wing parties being elected since 1949. The most recent Conservative candidate, Peter Penashue, slimly beat his Liberal counterpart by 79 votes in the 2011 federal election. He later resigned in 2019 amid a spending scandal. Jones beat Penashue in 2013 when he sought to be re-elected in a byelection.

People’s Party: Shannon Champion

Conservative: Shane Dumaresque

Liberal: Yvonne Jones (incumbent)

NDP: Amy Norman

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories